Pervasive Systems 2018

Elective in Pervasive Systems

(A. A. 2017/2018)

Syllabus

Technology is moving beyond the personal computer to everyday devices with embedded technology and connectivity as computing devices become progressively smaller and more powerful. Pervasive systems go beyond the realm of personal computers: it is the idea that almost any device, from clothing to tools to appliances to cars to homes to the human body to your coffee mug, can be embedded with chips to connect the device to an infinite network of other devices.

"Ubiquitous computing names the third wave in computing, just now beginning. First were mainframes, each shared by lots of people. Now we are in the personal computing era, person and machine staring uneasily at each other across the desktop. Next comes ubiquitous computing, or the age of calm technology, when technology recedes into the background of our lives" -- Mark Weiser, 1988

The course introduces emerging application scenaria, studies characteristic design approaches of Pervasive systems and networks, examines essential algorithmic techniques and performance limits and provides the foundations for engineer algorithms in open-design.

The course is organized in the following parts:

Instructors

Contact & Discussions

A slack channel is available at the following URL: https://persys2018-diag.slack.com

  • Lecture 1: Wednesday, February 28, 2018. Introduction to Pervasive Systems
  • Lecture 2: Friday, March 2, 2018. Projects
  • Lecture 3: Wednesday, March 7, 2018. STM Nucleo Platform
  • Lecture 4: Friday, March 9, 2018. Atollic TrueStudio
  • Lecture 5: Wednesday, March 14, 2018. IoT-Lab
  • Lecture 6: Friday, March 16, 2018. IoT-Lab
  • Lecture 7: Wednesday, March 21, 2018. Riot-OS
  • Lecture 8: Friday, March 23, 2018. MQTT
  • Lecture 9: Wednesday, March 28, 2018. CoAP
  • Lecture 10: Wednesday, April 4, 2018. IPv6LoWPAN
  • Lecture 11: Friday, April 6, 2017. RPL
  • Lecture 12: Wednesday, April 11, 2017. UI/UX for Internet of Things
  • Lecture 13: Friday, April 13, 2017. Student Group Projects: Initial Ideas Workshop.
  • Lecture 14: Wednesday, April 18, 2017. Ubiquitous Computing
  • Lecture 15: Friday, April 20, 2017. Sociable Smart Cities
  • Lecture 16: Friday, April 27, 2017. Low-Power Wide-Area Networks
  • Lecture 17: Wednesday, May 2, 2017. The Things Network
  • Lecture 18: Friday, May 4, 2017. Student Group Projects: Initial User Evaluation.
  • Lecture 19: Wednesday, May 9, 2017. Student Individual Presentations.
  • Lecture 20: Friday, May 11, 2017. Student Individual Presentations.
  • Lecture 21: Wednesday, May 16, 2017. Student Individual Presentations.
  • Lecture 22: Friday, May 18, 2017. Student Group Projects: MVP.
  • Lecture 23: Wednesday, May 23, 2017. Student Individual Presentations.
  • Lecture 24: Friday, May 25, 2017. Securing the Internet of Things
  • Lecture 25: Wednesday, May 30, 2017. Securing the Internet of Things
  • Lecture 26: Friday, June 1, 2017. Student Group Projects: Final Presentations.

Student Individual Presentations

Students will carry out individual mini-projects on one of the following technologies. A detailed presentation of the technology will be presented in front of the class during the semester. Each presentation should also include a quick introduction with hands-on examples.

Student Group Projects

Students are organized in groups of 3 and take over the design, development and evaluation of a pervasive system. The system goal is to address a real-world problem and towards this end the students will be involved in a end-user driven design. A series of interviews will be planned to identify the most important features and understand how to design their system. The development will be based on the STM NUCLEO platform allowing the students to try out their ideas and to quickly create prototypes for evaluation. Each project will be demonstrated at the end of the semester along with a detailed presentation of the evaluation of the end-to-end performance.

Previous Years